g1-1Not only did Natina give me something that I’ve wanted for awhile, but she kept it a perfect secret.  I don’t know how she managed to keep the secret from me without blurting it out, but she did.

My present came via UPS and she hid it in the “special place” that I wasn’t allowed to look at.  I should have known by her excitement that the gift was major, but she kept saying, “Now if you don’t like it we can always take it back and exchange it.”  Which made me think that it was something from Target.

We went to Jack Stack for dinner on my Birthday.  And she made me wait untill after the appetizer.  (But that was mainly because we were both starving and she didn’t want me to get food on the new phone.)  So I wasn’t expecting something this cool but I was eager, none the less, to open my present.  (Those of you who have seen me at Christmas know.)  And when I opened it I pretty much geeked out and flailed my arms and looked ridiculous in the middle of the restaurant.  Here I am at a nice restaurant acting like a little kid who got “the present.”  Because I did get the present… The G1!

This thing is sweet!  It’s got pretty much everything (and has a touch screen!).  Pictures, Web Browsing, IM, MMS, SMS, mP3 etc… (Basically an iPhone for half as much money.)  g1-2It is run by a Linux based OS called Android (or something, I’m probably butchering it).  The sweet part about that is that it’s an “open” platform which basically means that anybody and write programs for it (equals plethora of free apps) and it also means great compatibility with Windows/Apple/Linux.  This phone is compatible and will work well on all three platforms.  Really cool!  Also it will support a 16gb SDHC micro SD card (which I bought online with b-day money for $55) so as far as capacity goes it’s the same as iPhone.  So I’m stoked!  All the functionality of an iPhone for cheaper and no obligations to Apple (which is nice because, as much as I like apple, they can be the “man” from time to time).

If you can’t tell I’m so excited and I just can’t hide it… (um, wow.)

Later,

-Tom